Weekly Listens (24-30 December)

This mix by Rob is a very Nu-Jazz mix with a lot of groovy textures and sounds. It has a lot of Neo-Soul inspiration in addition to a hint of house/disco.

KRS-ONE is back with “Between the Protests.” With all of the things that have been going on this year its great to get some perspective from the Blast Master. Most important lines is from the song “Don’t Fall For it.” He says:

“Yo, me, I’m not a fake dude, I’ma keep it real real
They see through it all, that “America needs to heal” deal
America ain’t really sick, this is what it really is
Gunshots and cages for black and brown little kids”

I’ve been listening to AfroPop since I was in college (don’t ask me how long ago that was). Its the one podcast that I consistently listen to no matter what. I love their recaps that look back historically and this 2020 wrap up is a great episode.

Published by SPITLOGIC

Father, Husband, Crate Digger, Runner, and too many more things to name. I don't consider anything special about me. I have this blog as a means to express and record significant parts of my life.

Leave a comment